(shouting)

2D platformer, "inspired" by SMW that I'm making

wanna make a game, or anything else? seminal bloom!
konaa
ultimate poser

2D platformer, "inspired" by SMW that I'm making

Post by konaa »

Hey everybody, I've been working for a while now on this 2D platformer. It's made in Unity and all the resources are from scratch. That's uh, maybe not fully advisable because I'm no artist, but it was a neat challenge and I think it's turned out not so bad so far.

I've got three worlds done. There's obviously some """"influences"""" from SMW. That said, I also take inspiration from plenty of other SNES and genesis 2d platformers, especially an obsession with gimmicks that Donkey Kong Country (and for that matter talkhaus) has.

The whole thing is still in development so expect some jank, but I've tried to tune it up a little bit for this "demo". I'm an idiot programmer so as of now the key bindings are locked and you'll need to use JoyToKey if you want a controller. Saving and loading is implemented, but I haven't actually decided what in the game will trigger it. Right now you can save anywhere on the overworld by pressing S.

Controls
  • Z: Jump, Shoot
  • X: Run, Focus Fire
  • P: Pause
Some Screenshots!
screen1.png
screen1.png (338.52 KiB) Viewed 3594 times
screen2.png
screen2.png (575.81 KiB) Viewed 3594 times
screen3.png
screen3.png (263.21 KiB) Viewed 3594 times
screen4.png
screen4.png (448.61 KiB) Viewed 3594 times
screen5.png
screen5.png (79.12 KiB) Viewed 3594 times
You can download it here

Obviously any feedback is appreciated, it's still very much a work in progress! If something makes you go "f this game" and quit, that's top priority for me to fix, so don't be shy of telling me when you got bored or what jank annoyed you into quitting.

Hope you enjoy!!
Emral
https://enjl.talkhaus.com/

Re: 2D platformer, "inspired" by SMW that I'm making

Post by Emral »

I do things. You can find them on my talkhaus site. https://enjl.talkhaus.com/