sites we <3 - smw central smbx community

Treasure Chest and stuff

Anthrax 2 Multiply Themodynamics

Re: Treasure Chest and stuff

Postby Luigisopa » 23 Jan 2012, 19:44

First I want to say that it is really great what you guys are doing for the game.
Now I got a little problem though:
I played through a couple of levels in the baserom and found some chests. But my level is missing a treasure ... I think back in the time it wasn't necessary for clearing. Now of course I would like to add one!
I may be in the wrong place to ask here? but: Can anyone help me to include the treasure I made?

Here it is:

Spoiler: show
frog.gif
I know it looks kinda funny ... ^^ It's supposed to be my avatar... funny enough it seems to look like a "frog" or a "frogs head" (reversible figure) xD. Anyway Can somebody import it somehow? I made it with paint, 16x16 and used that blue color.


Thanks a lot!
-Luigisopa
User avatar
Luigisopa
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 27 May 2010, 18:29

Re: Treasure Chest and stuff

Postby Diortem » 23 Jan 2012, 20:55

I think Limepie handles the importing and stuff. There's also another thread for it in this forum (stage prop list), but I'm sure it will be noticed and inserted properly.

btw. I like the image you made, but please also add:
-name (<= 16 characters)
-value (<= 12 characters)
-description (2 lines of <= 26 characters)
User avatar
Diortem
 
Posts: 278
Joined: 06 May 2011, 21:10

Re: Treasure Chest and stuff

Postby Luigisopa » 23 Jan 2012, 22:59

Diortem wrote:I think Limepie handles the importing and stuff. There's also another thread for it in this forum (stage prop list), but I'm sure it will be noticed and inserted properly.


Thank you very much. Here is the other information:

Spoiler: show
- [edit:]name: mucous frog
-value: 113 euros
-description:
A Latin frog that tastes
like fish dipped in soda.

the level is "Down To Green"
... btw...
ORIGINAL - Kopie_00002.jpg

this is going to change right?^^


Thank You,
-Luigisopa
Last edited by Luigisopa on 16 Feb 2012, 22:34, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Luigisopa
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 27 May 2010, 18:29

Re: Treasure Chest and stuff

Postby limepie20 » 24 Jan 2012, 00:05

Thanks for pointing out that sign; I'll get that fixed.

Also, I've taken note of your chest.

It may not necessarily be in the next baserom but it will eventually get in.
User avatar
limepie20
 
Posts: 5471
Joined: 20 May 2010, 02:14
Location: Doesn't Matter

Re: Treasure Chest and stuff

Postby Diortem » 24 Jan 2012, 07:10

One small note: Your item name has 17 characters, you need to shorten it by at least one (whitespaces also count of course).
User avatar
Diortem
 
Posts: 278
Joined: 06 May 2011, 21:10

Re: Treasure Chest and stuff

Postby Diortem » 10 Jun 2012, 20:43

And there we are back again for another update. I'm working on the treasure room and managed to upload the treasure tiles directly into VRAM without needing extra (Ex)GFX and/or Map16 tiles.

Initially, I had the idea to upload the gfx over some rope tiles to allow you to walk through the entire treasure area. By pressing 'up' in front of any tile the chest message for the corresponding level will show up. Here's an initial screenshot what I got so far (don't mind the incompleted graphics too much at this point):

An empty hoard, with only level 105 placeholder triggered in SRAM:
A2MT007.png
A2MT007.png (3.27 KiB) Viewed 893 times

All treasures shown in spoilers below:
Spoiler: show
A2MT008.png
A2MT008.png (9.58 KiB) Viewed 893 times
User avatar
Diortem
 
Posts: 278
Joined: 06 May 2011, 21:10

Re: Treasure Chest and stuff

Postby kil3 » 30 Jun 2012, 11:46

This looks amazing. Better than I envisioned it.
kil3
 
Posts: 514
Joined: 12 Jan 2011, 15:24

Re: Treasure Chest and stuff

Postby Diortem » 30 Jun 2012, 12:01

Thanks. I already submitted the working version to Limepie so it should be in the next patch. I think I didn't bother to mention already that there's a cursor to allow you to select any of the treasures and show the corresponding message. I've also hid Demo and froze the player so you don't hear any silly sounds while in the room. At the moment one has to press 'select' to leave the subarea. I works like shown below:

Spoiler: show
A2MT009.png
cursor is blinkin on the left to show the current treasure selected.
A2MT009.png (6.76 KiB) Viewed 869 times


Now if I could just get the status bar out of the picture... The problem is that setting the level mode to $1 during level init as some threads suggest at smwcentral the HUD doesn't disappear, while it should corresponding to the code I read in all.log. Bowser's battle mode ($C1) does the trick, but then layers 1/2 don't work as normal.
User avatar
Diortem
 
Posts: 278
Joined: 06 May 2011, 21:10

Re: Treasure Chest and stuff

Postby kil3 » 02 Jul 2012, 03:24

Isn't there a RAM address to adjust what scanline the status bar IRQ fires on? I recall something like that. If you set it to 0, the statusbar shouldn't show up at all. Unfortunately SMWC modified/deleted a bunch of info from their ram map so I can't seem to find that anymore...
kil3
 
Posts: 514
Joined: 12 Jan 2011, 15:24

Re: Treasure Chest and stuff

Postby alex2 » 02 Jul 2012, 04:05

Setting $0D9B will make the game skip all of the IRQ shit. That's probably what you want.
Warning: Opinions expressed by alex2 or others in this post do not necessarily reflect the views, opinions, or position of alex2 himself on the matter(s) being discussed therein.
raocow wrote:a3xt will be my last project, after which I will quit lp forever

SPASM - LevelASM for Yoshi's Island!
My mosts things:
User avatar
alex2
 
Posts: 4952
Joined: 23 Jul 2012, 02:32
Location: allie's butt

Re: Treasure Chest and stuff

Postby Diortem » 02 Jul 2012, 05:58

The problem is that setting the level mode to $1 during level init as some threads suggest at smwcentral the HUD doesn't disappear, while it should corresponding to the code I read in all.log. Bowser's battle mode ($C1) does the trick, but then layers 1/2 don't work as normal.


That level mode I was referring to is $0D9B. :|

Code: Select all
$0081EC:        AD 9B 0D      LDA $0D9B               
$0081EF:        4A            LSR         ; shift LSB into carry flag     
$0081F0:        D0 30         BNE $008222 ; Bowser/Koopa kid battle       
$0081F2:        B0 03         BCS $0081F7 ; -> if carry set skip status bar
$0081F4:        20 AC 8D      JSR DrawStatusBar
$0081F7:        [...]  ;continue     

Normally $0D9B = 0, but when it's 1 the IRQ should stop generating the status bar, but as far as I can see it doesn't seem to help. I'll have to step through some of the code to understand this better.
User avatar
Diortem
 
Posts: 278
Joined: 06 May 2011, 21:10

Re: Treasure Chest and stuff

Postby alex2 » 02 Jul 2012, 18:30

What about
Code: Select all
LDA #$58
STA $2109

..in levelASM? Note that I haven't tested this, but it should work.
Warning: Opinions expressed by alex2 or others in this post do not necessarily reflect the views, opinions, or position of alex2 himself on the matter(s) being discussed therein.
raocow wrote:a3xt will be my last project, after which I will quit lp forever

SPASM - LevelASM for Yoshi's Island!
My mosts things:
User avatar
alex2
 
Posts: 4952
Joined: 23 Jul 2012, 02:32
Location: allie's butt

Re: Treasure Chest and stuff

Postby Diortem » 02 Jul 2012, 20:27

Isn't that the BG3 tilemap and size register? I'm not sure if that is a good idea to modify that, if I were to do that the messages won't work either when selecting the chest.
User avatar
Diortem
 
Posts: 278
Joined: 06 May 2011, 21:10

Re: Treasure Chest and stuff

Postby alex2 » 02 Jul 2012, 21:41

I wasn't aware the messages were BG3 as well...for some reason. Oh well, the only other thing I can think of is a custom IRQ hack.

Possible hijack:
Code: Select all
org $008292
JML Hack
NOP

org !Freespace
Hack:
REP #$10
LDA $010B
CMP !LevelNumber    ; The level number you're using for the treasure room.
BNE Return
SEP #$10
LDY #$00
JML $008297

Return:
LDY #$24
JML $008297


Whatever is in Y when $008297 is hit is the number of status bar scanlines to draw. $24 is usually what you'd draw, since it's the total number of scanlines in the status bar. $00 prevents it from drawing any of them.

Once again, I haven't tested this, but it should work.

Edit: There's a bug: if there's a level that tries to hide the status bar, other than the treasure room, this code will overwrite that level's own hijack. Can be fixed by adding CMP !OtherLevelNum : BNE Return after the first BNE Return.
Warning: Opinions expressed by alex2 or others in this post do not necessarily reflect the views, opinions, or position of alex2 himself on the matter(s) being discussed therein.
raocow wrote:a3xt will be my last project, after which I will quit lp forever

SPASM - LevelASM for Yoshi's Island!
My mosts things:
User avatar
alex2
 
Posts: 4952
Joined: 23 Jul 2012, 02:32
Location: allie's butt

Re: Treasure Chest and stuff

Postby Diortem » 15 Sep 2012, 08:58

Actually, it's fixed now. The thing is that it does work (i.e. the NMI doesn't write the tiles), but the static border we're looking at is written on level load. Only when the Bowser battle mode is selected, this border won't be uploaded. This minor tidbit was missing in the threads on smwcentral.

The easiest way to work with this is simply overwriting those tiles with 'spaces' once during levelinit asm. The code for it is already up in the base rom thread to be inserted.


Now that I think of it, it would be better to have the room in the same style as the rest of the house it's placed in. Same funky Mario RPG music and white background with black crayon lines.
User avatar
Diortem
 
Posts: 278
Joined: 06 May 2011, 21:10

Previous

Return to A2MT

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest